|
Evidence based medicine is “the conscientious,
explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making
decisions about the care of individual patients.” [Sackett
DL, et.al. Evidence based medicine: what it is and what it isn’t.
BMJ 1996; 312: 71-72] 
Primary literature, Randomized Controlled
Clinical Trials (RCCT), can be found in Medline (Ovid Medline
or PubMed)
Secondary literature (filtered & synthesized) can
be found in:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- ACP Journal Club
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)
- Ovid Medline (using EBM Limits)
- Clinical Evidence
- UpToDate
http://library.luhs.org
OVID EBM Reviews: Ovid provides links in MEDLINE to all the
Cochrane databases and the ACP Journal Club as well as full text
links in the references which allow you to read the evidence
in the primary source
The Cochrane Collaboration - Developed
at the Research & Development Programme, United
Kingdom National Health Service, maintains systematic reviews
of randomized controlled trials across all areas of health care
focusing on the effectiveness of treatments and the delivery
and organization of health care. Cochrane Databases include Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews,
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), and
Cochrane Controlled Trials Register.
ACP Journal Club - Comprised of two
journals ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American
College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint
publication with the British Medical Journal Group. The editors
of ACP Journal Club screen the top clinical journals on a
regular basis and
identify studies that are both methodologically sound and
clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract and commentary
on the value of the article
for clinical practice are included.
Clinical Evidence - Continuously updated international
source of evidence on the effects of clinical interventions.
It describes the best available evidence
and if there is no good evidence, it says so. Clinical Evidence
has an international advisory board and is published by BMJ Publishing
Group
Ltd.
UpToDate - Offers original, peer-reviewed topic
reviews making available detailed, authoritative clinical answers
to more then 6000
topics. Also offers patient information handouts and a “What’s
New” summary.
The best strategy when searching for EBM articles
is to break your question into parts, search the disease or topic
in question
in MEDLINE, and then apply one or more of the following search
criteria.
Applying this limit in MEDLINE will retrieve results found in the
Cochrane databases or the ACP Journal Club.
Limit to one or more publication types; publication
type is found
on the limit screen.
randomized controlled trial
controlled clinical trial
meta-analysis
practice guidelines
Use MeSH subject headings
exp cohort studies
double blind method
comparative study
outcome assessment
risk factors
Use textword searching
(systematic review).tw.
random:.ti. (Use of colon : allows for various endings to the root
word; random: retrieves random, randomize or randomized)
(double blind).tw.
Example: Should you prescribe antibiotics to treat otitis media
in young children?
1. exp otitis media
2. exp antibiotics
3. 1 and 2
4. limit 3 to (human and english language)
5. limit 4 to preschool child <2 to 5 years>
6. limit 5 to randomized controlled trial
7.
--OR--
7. double blind method
8. 5 and 7
-- OR--
9. (systematic review).tw.
10. 5 and 9
|