|
Does the library own a book or journal?
- Search the online catalog (Pegasus) to determine if Loyola
owns the book or journal you need (both print and electronic)
- Click on the link to E-Journals to determine if Loyola owns
an electronic journal or the exact years the electronic journal
is available.
Doing research on a specific topic: start with
a database.
- For biomedical information go to Medline. For other subject
areas refer to the handout Major Databases available at Health
Sciences Library for appropriate databases.
- Searching Medline (either Ovid or PubMed).
- Medline contains citations to current and historical research as
well as practice guidelines, and evidence based information.
- Many citations will have links to electronic full text journal articles
owned by Loyola.
MD Consult
- Electronic journal articles and books
- MD Consult provides full-text access
to a variety of journals and books. Specific titles
are found
under the
E-Journals and the e-books links on the library home
page. Access Electronic journal articles by searching
rather than browsing the table of contents. Users
may 'search'
a known citation to find a specific article.
- Other features
- Student Union - found in the Learning Center section
- Geared toward medical students
- Contains information about performing procedures,
practice case studies, medical abbreviations
and other items.
Micromedex
- Use Micromedex
for drug information including toxicology, drug interactions
and dosing tools.
- Patient Handouts
Evidence Based Medicine resources
- Clinical Evidence
- UpToDate
- Pier
- Ovid: Cochrane, Dare & ACP Journal Club
Internet resources
- Good source of government
& association resources as well as patient education sources.
- Click on WWW links on the library's homepage
for quality sites arranged by subject such as MedlinePlus,
a resource for patient education materials available
on the web.
Questions: Call (708) 216-9192 to speak to a Reference Librarian |