Bibliographic management software packages are
computer programs designed to manage and organize citations.
Effective use of this software will save time in managing personal
files and aid in preparation of manuscripts.
It is an efficient way to manage your personal
library, no matter what is included in your collection: article
reprints, meeting abstracts, technical reports, patents, computer
files etc.
Bibliographic management software allows you to
directly download citations from online databases such as PubMed
and Ovid Medline or add references manually.
You can search the references using several access
points including author, journal, keywords; easily insert references
into Word or WordPerfect documents and create bibliographies
for hundreds of journal styles.
For more information see: Personal
Bibliography Software (University of Waterloo) http://library.uwaterloo.ca/~dhmorton/cribpbs.html
The three most popular products are EndNote, Reference
Manager, and ProCite. All are produced by ISI Researchsoft.com.
Trial versions are available. http://www.isiresearchsoft.com
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography manager. It has all the
same features as the products listed above, and your account
can be accessed any place that has Internet access. http://www.refworks.com
For a comparison of RefWorks and Endnote go to
http://www.library.tufts.edu/tisch/ra/refworks_endnote.htm
Learning How to Use Your Personal Bibliographic
Management Software
(EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite)
http://ist.uwaterloo.ca/ew/biblio/learning.html
(University of Waterloo)
Guides and Tutorials EndNote 7.0 (Galter Library, Northwestern
University) http://www.galter.northwestern.edu/guides/endnote/index.cfm
Using EndNote: Basic and Advanced Skills [PDF files] (Raymon H.
Mulford Library, Medical College of Ohio at Toledo) http://www.mco.edu/lib/education/bibmgmt.html#endnote
Using EndNote (Taubman Medical Library, University of Michigan)
http://www.lib.umich.edu/taubman/endnote.html
RefWorks FAQ(Taubman Medical Library, University of Michigan)
http://www.lib.umich.edu/help/refworks
RefWorks tutorial http://www.refworks.com/tutorial
Bibliographic Management Software: Endnote and ProCite:
http://libweb.uoregon.edu/guides/bibsoftware/index.html
(University of Oregon)
|
|
|