|
PubMed is a free search interface that provides access
to the MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE databases. You can access PubMed
anywhere where there is an internet connection.
Go to the Health Sciences Library’s Home
Page at http://library.luhs.org
and under "Quick Links" in the lower left click on PubMed.
You can access PubMed and Loyola's e-journals
within PubMed via remote access through ARCHER. ARCHER is the
name of our proxy server,
which
allows
users to remotely access the library's
electronic journals, books, and databases. By using the proxy
server authorized users will need only one login and password
to access all of the Library's electronic resources.
To register for remote access:
Go to the library's homepage http://library.luhs.org
click on the Forms menu on the lefthand side
and scroll down to Remote Access
Fill out the form and submit
You will get an email notification confirming your login
and password by the end of the next business day. This will
signify that you can start using ARCHER.
Let's say you want to find out the effects of antibiotics on
ear infections in children and you would like to see if there
are clinical trials.
Reduce your question to the basic concepts and then enter your
search terms into the search box and click Go.

You will receive many results on your topic(s), and you can
then limit your results to clinical trials, appopriate language, age,
and publication date.
The next step is to set limits.
Click on the limits tab. see below
Click on Publication Type and choose Clinical
Trial.
Click on Language and choose English.
Click on Ages and choose Child 0-18.
Limit Publication Date by entering 1999-2005
Click
Go.
You will notice that the Limits tab located above your results
is checked and below it the limits you have selected are listed.
Limits will remain in effect for the duration or your search
session until you disable them.

To locate where you can access the articles you find you can:
Click on the yellow page icon to view the options for obtaining
the article
OR
Change the view of your results to see more information.
Use the drop down arrow in the box next to Display
Choose Abstract
Click on Display
Results will show with Abstracts and Linkout Buttons which
will lead you to options for obtaining the article.

Now your results will be displayed with Abstracts and
the following Linkout Buttons that will alert you to where
you can
access the the article:
- Online Full-Text is
a link to the full-text through the library's subscription
to the e-journal.
- Local Print Collection is a link
to our online Library Catalog that will guide you to the location
of article in print format.
- Publisher Link is a link
to the publisher, which will often charge a fee to obtain
full-text.
(Note that the presence of a publisher
link is unrelated to the library's full-text subscription.)

Note: If we don't have access to the article
you want, you can order it through Interlibrary loan by filling
out the form on the library homepage under forms, rather
than purchasing it through the publisher link.
PubMed has a Journal Database where you can search
for Journals either by title or abbreviation.
Select the Journals Database and enter the title
or approximate abbreviated title of the journal you are searching
for
Click Go.
Above your results, Suggestions of similar titles
are listed. This is helpful if you
are unsure of the journal title you are seeking.
When you find your journal, take note of the MEDLINE Abbreviation
that is listed. That abbreviation is what is often used
in publications.
See below
PubMed offers two user friendly ways of quickly verifying
information and finding full citations when you don't have
all the information.
Single Citation Matcher
PMID (PubMed Identifier) or UI (Ovid Unique Identifier)
Citation Matcher can be found on the left hand
side under PubMed Services - see below.
Click on Single Citation Matcher
Enter information about the article you wish to find.
- You may omit any item if you wish.
Journal titles may be entered in full or as valid MEDLINE
abbreviations.
- For Date, you may enter yyyy,
yyyy/mm, or yyyy/mm/dd. For example,
1998, 1998/03, or 1998/03/06
- Author names are automatically truncated to account for
varying initials, e.g., smith j will also
match on smith ja, smith jb,
smith jc jr, etc. Enclose author names
in double quotes to retrieve that exact match, e.g., "smith
j"
PMID (PubMed ID) or UI (Ovid Unique Identifier)
is another easy way to find articles that you have citations
for. This is a unique number assigned to each citation
indexed in Medline.
Select Pubmed as your database and enter the
PMID or UI in
the search box and click Go.

NCBI is a central place to customize NCBI Web services, of which PubMed
is a part. It is a free resource. To use it, you must
first register and your browser must be set to cookies.
You can find MY NCBI (Cubby) located under PubMed Services
on the left hand side.

You can use My NCBI to:
- Save searches
- Set up e-mail alerts for new content
- Display links to Web resources (LinkOut)
- Choose filters that group search results
Check out the National Library of Medicine's PubMed
Tutorial
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
|