It is important to have a clear sense of the topic
that needs to be investigated. It requires you to break down
the topic into its separate ideas or concepts. A recommended
strategy
is
to
formulate your topic as a question. For example, "What occupational
risks does a coal miner face in his job?" This allows you
to focus on the key concepts and push aside less relevant information.
Think of synonyms that describe your concept. Decide on the type
and level of information sources needed. For example, do you
need background information, statistical information or guidelines?
Will you need to consult original research or secondary sources?
There are many sources of relevant information.
THe following lists provides types of information sources and
their specific strengths in aiding your research topic.
Once you have decided what type of information
you need, use the appropriate tools to find that information.
- Search Loyola University Libraries' Online Catalog, Pegasus,
to determine if Loyola owns a book or journal title either in print or
electronically. Pegasus is available through the library
homepage or directly at http://pegasus.luc.edu
- Use Ovid or PubMed to search Medline and other database for journal
citations, many of which have links to full text journal articles.
Pegasus, Loyola University Libraries' online catalog, contains book and
journal holdings of all Loyola Libraries.
The Libraries are the Health Sciences Library (located on the
Medical Center campus in Maywood, IL.), Cudahy Library (located
in Chicago on North Sheridan Road), Lewis Library and the Law Library
(located on Pearson Street in downtown Chicago),
and the Rome Center Library (located in Rome, Italy).
You can search Pegasus by author, title, subject, call number
or keyword. Most materials located in the other Loyola Libraries
can be sent to the Health Sciences Library for your use.
A database is an organized collection of information. Understanding
the structure of a database will help you locate and retrieve
information more efficiently. The main component of a database
is called
a unit record. Each unit record contains a number of fields.
Fields include author, title and source of information. All fields
are searchable.
Concepts
Break your topic down to the most important concepts. For
example, if your question is "why is aspirin used to treat headaches?"
the important concepts would be aspirin and headache. Enter each
concept (or keyword
)
separately. Use Ovid's combine feature or Boolean operator "and"
to connect your concepts.
- aspirin
- headache
- 1 and 2
Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT)
Boolean operators are connectors used to combine search
terms to narrow or expand a search.
- Use AND to narrow a search. When you use AND, both terms must be present in any records you
retrieve: aspirin and headache.
- Use OR to expand a search. Your search will retrieve all
records with either of the terms: headache or migraine (especially
useful for grouping synonyms).
- Use NOT to exclude a term: aspirin not
Tylenol.
A search statement can contain one or more Boolean connectors.
If you are using both AND & OR in the same sentence, you must "nest"
(or use parentheses) your OR 'd statements. Aspirin and (headache
or migraine).
Subject Searching
Medline, PsychInfo, CINAHL, and many other databases are indexed
using controlled vocabulary or subject headings. Medline's controlled
vocabulary is called MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Subject searching
is the most efficient way to search a database since it eliminates
the need to search synonyms or variations in spelling. If you are
searching an Ovid database, you can enter keywords and the system
will automatically "map" to the correct heading. Remember to search
each keyword separately and then combine your terms.
Limiting a Search
If you are searching an OVID database, click on the
LIMIT icon and you can choose appropriate limits for your search.
Common limits include language, human, evidence based medicine
reviews, review articles and full text available.